1
Gross Profit Margin
(Total Sales − Cost of Goods Sold) ÷ Total Sales × 100
Why it mattersTells you whether your product or service is actually profitable. If the margin is weak, more sales just means more loss.
ExampleA company sold for 100,000, cost of goods was 60,000. Margin = 40%.
ActionTrack it weekly. If it drops, review your pricing or your costs.